The Castle of the Malabaila's of Canale was built around 1270 as a defence fortress of the village of Canale. Around 1600, the castle was enlarged to become a residence. Originally surrounded by a big defending pitch, and in 1512 passed to the Malabaila's. In their cellars, in the middle of his vineyards, wines are maturing in constant temperature and away from everyday light and noise.
The Malabaila's, a noble family from the city of Asti, are present in the activity of commercial and financial interests all over northern Europe since the year 1000. The first appearance of this family in the territory of Canale d'Alba was around the year 1200, when it acquired the estate of Castelletto that is located among the territories of Canale, Castellinaldo, San Damiano and Priocca.
The Malabaila di Canale estate has been owned by the Count Malabaila family since the beginning of the fifteenth century, succeeding their predecessors, the Counts Roero. In the Malabaila family archives there are letters, dating back to the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, sent from House of Savoy requesting wines from the Count's caves.
The Malabaila vineyards are positioned not far from the town of Alba, north of the river Tanaro in an unique area characterised by small steep hills and scattered woodland. This area, since the Medieval era, has been known as Roero. The wines, which are made with the same care as they were centuries ago but with modern technology, were savoured by our ancestors and such illustrious examiners as the Princes Esterhazy of Austria-Hungary and the Dukes of Savoy who were to become the Kings of Italy. The estate vineyards cover an area of 22 hectares from wich are produced red wines, white wines and dessert wines.